I Don’t Sleep Anymore, I Wish I Could By Kate

 I don’t sleep anymore. I wish I could.
You would think it was from bad thoughts invading my head-
Sometimes.
I don’t sleep anymore. I wish I could.
You would think it was from pain-
Sometimes.

I don’t sleep anymore. I wish I could.
I lie in bed half awake, half dreaming about the day.
I don’t sleep anymore. I wish I could.
I wake after two hours in frustration, wide awake with no hope of falling back asleep.

I don’t sleep anymore. I wish I could.
Sometimes the pain is too much and I can’t breathe.
I climb out of my bed in agony in search of a pain pill.
I don’t sleep anymore. You know I wish I could.
I am sad and the emotions are just too much.
so I lie there crying wondering if this will be my life forever?

I don’t sleep anymore. I wish I could.
My brain doesn’t want to shut off.
My body hurts so bad I can’t breathe.
I lie there in tears thinking it has to get better. It has to! This pain can’t last forever!
I don’t sleep anymore. I wish I could.
It gets so lonely when you are the only one awake in the wee hours of the night or morning.
It gets old, very quickly.
The tears get tiring very quickly.
The nights I am up and pain is not distracting me are actually worse because I am alone in my thoughts.
I don’t sleep anymore. God I wish I could.

3 Responses to “I Don’t Sleep Anymore, I Wish I Could By Kate”

  1. Soft hugs. My hope for all of us, is to find peace.

  2. Peace and sleep. Or at least just a piece of sleep.

  3. brother_berto

    August 5, 2011 at 4:18 AM

    Somes up my feelings on the topic perfectly :0)

Leave a Reply

