Regrets, I’ve Had A Few By Robert

http://wordswithspondys.files.wordpress.com/2011/07/regret_trooper_xlarge1.jpeg

Time for the latest MOW’er blog topic “Regret”

I have more than a few regrets in life and have found that being diagnosed with a chronic illness has forced me to review past life choices as well as forming new ones looking to the future.

If I could go back in time I would do many things differently and try to live life to the full and not put things off to do tomorrow what I could have done today.

My one biggest regret is that I didn’t take a gap year before starting work to travel and see more of the wonders of the world, as once you start working and leave the nest there is always something that takes priority of your time and money that prevents the dream from happening. Now on top of the usual blockers to upping sticks and travelling, is the worry of ankylosing spondylitis and it’s temperament not being conductive to sitting in one position for too long and that puts added dread into the thought of too many hours cooped up in a plane or car.

I regret that in the past too much of my life has consisted of working, eating & sleeping with not enough enjoyment thrown into the mix to make life exciting. My job (that I used to love) has over the last few years become a grind and a struggle as the construction industry is still in the toilet due to the Wa***r Bankers, with not much positivity looking ahead. Becoming ill does make you re-evaluate priorities somewhat, but having money to live off always remains the number one priority even though I would like to ease back to look after my health as I find it much more difficult to put the same efforts in as I used to.

When I was thinking about what to write about for this topic I found It impossible to not think of the song “My Way” when thinking about regret, so I thought I would include the lyrics. Frank sums it up pretty well I feel and also manages to slip in a Standing Tall reference into the song for us Spondy’s.

And now, the end is near,
And so I face the final curtain.
My friends, I’ll say it clear;
I’ll state my case of which I’m certain.http://wordswithspondys.files.wordpress.com/2011/07/frank-sinatra-3-commited-suicide.jpg

I’ve lived a life that’s full –
I’ve travelled each and every highway.
And more, much more than this,
I did it my way.

Regrets? I’ve had a few,
But then again, too few to mention.
I did what I had to do
And saw it through without exemption.

I planned each charted course –
Each careful step along the byway,
And more, much more than this,
I did it my way.

Yes, there were times, I’m sure you knew,
When I bit off more than I could chew,
But through it all, when there was doubt,
I ate it up and spit it out.
I faced it all and I stood tall
And did it my way.

I’ve loved, I’ve laughed and cried,
I’ve had my fill – my share of losing.
But now, as tears subside,
I find it all so amusing.

To think I did all that,
And may I say, not in a shy way –
Oh no. Oh no, not me.
I did it my way.

For what is a man? What has he got?
If not himself – Then he has naught.
To say the things he truly feels
And not the words of one who kneels.
The record shows I took the blows
And did it my way.

Yes, it was my way.

I don’t want to have many more regrets going forward, Developing a Chronic Illness has made me appreciate the good days more and to take advantage of them. If work doesn’t improve over the next few months and life changes are required I am going to look at it as a positive sign that it is time to change course and and take the risk with a new venture and possibly change of scenery and start afresh. When I look back on things in the future I want to be able to say that I have taken Franks message to heart and say “Regrets…I’ve had only a few

3 Responses to “Regrets, I’ve Had A Few By Robert”

  1. I loved this blog, so powerful loved it!

  2. Consumerking on July 11, 2011 at 15:22 said:
    I think about regrets all the time now. Very nice post!

  3. jackieat60 on July 11, 2011 at 14:34 said:
    I enjoyed reading that Rob x

Leave a Reply

